Blog Comments

BLOG COMMENT  #1

Title: My Experience With Twitter by Erin Hertha

Date: 2/24/2010

My comment:

I agree with you. I also felt like twitter was more of a nuisance than anything else. Like you, I have better things to do with my time then read about what people are doing every second of the day. I can see how twitter has its benefits for people who plan on entering the public relations world or a similar field, but twitter is just not for me. Even though there were a few interesting posts, the majority of the posts I saw were pointless. If I want news updates, I think I’ll just stick with traditional ways, such as watching the news, or reading the newspaper. I also think facebook is better. Twitter seems more confusing, and facebook offers practically everything twitter does, and then some.

BLOG COMMENT #2

Title: Career career Career.  Are you Career minded? By: Mikelle Liette

Date: March 1, 2010

My comment:

Wow. This is a great post. Everything you said is so true.  I feel like we’ve been working toward our career for practically our whole lives. We start schooling when we’re just a few years old, and most of us continue into our twenties! The whole point of schooling is to educate us and prepare us for our future career, and life after school. However, it’s astonishing how many people find themselves with college degrees, and no job. We are taught so many things during our school career, however we are never really taught how to land a job.  I feel we are forced to take so many classes and learn about subjects that we will never need knowledge about outside of school.  Why aren’t more classes on interviewing, and writing resumes available and required in our curriculum?! This is at least practical and applicable to everyone who intends on getting a job sometime in their life.

BLOG COMMENT #3

Title: Topic of the Week: Week 1 By: Kyla White

Date: March 15, 2010

My Comment:

I agree with you. I like technology and the convenience of it, however I could do without most of it. Technology may make our lives easier, but if you really think about it, does it really? I mean I can personally recall of number of times in my life where I was frustrated with technology. Whether it be from things not working properly to how distracting it can be. Technology may save us time, but then again it takes up a lot of our time as well. It’s sick when you think how much time you spend on social networking sites. Time spent on computers, cell phones, gaming systems, etc. also adds up! I think more people should focus on being in the moment, and not let things like technology distract us from learning new things, and taking away precious time. I understand that technology has its benefits and its conveniences, but we should not let any of this interfere with us living our lives and making the most of our time!

BLOG COMMENT # 4

Title: Spring Break! By: Michelle White

Date: March 22, 2010

My Comment:

I’m glad you had a good spring break. I heard some great things about the Leadership Forum. I’m really considering if I should do it next year or my senior year. Even if you weren’t getting credit, would you still do it? Would it be worth it? I want to go, but at the same time it would be difficult to not really have a spring break. I thought it was really neat that even though I’m sure you heard some great messages, that the main message that stood out was narrowing down the gifts God has given you, and to focus and develop certain ones.  This is something God has been telling me lately. I think everyone, especially youth and college students need to hear this message and do this. We need to develop those talents God has given us starting now, and use them to expand his kingdom!

BLOG COMMENT #5

title: Employees Using Social Media Can Give Companies a Nasty Virus By: David Mullen

date: 4/6/2010

my comment:

Great post! I definitely agree that many people don’t think about what they post, let alone the consequences. Using social media networks and posting things are sometimes second nature. We tend to post things on how we are feeling at the moment. It’s only later that we may regret what we have posted, and unfortunately it is very hard to recover or erase a post. I think that a company shouldn’t go as far as putting regulations or guidelines on personal accounts, but I definitely agree that companies should make employees aware of the consequences posts and social media networks can have on the individual as well as the company. Ultimately though, if a person is not professional with social media networks, and can’t decide for themselves what it appropriate when it comes finding the line between  work and personal life, then that is their own fault. They can’t put the blame on anyone other than themselves if they get fired, or do damage to their personal career.

BLOG COMMENT #6

title: Are you Strategic? By Mark W. Schaefer

date: 4/12/10

my comment:

It’s so true. Forming good relationships with your customers is key. Businesses and Companies around the world are trying to create competitive advantages, and fail to see that their greatest advantage is satisfying their customers.  Statistics show that it costs less money to keep existing customers than it is to find new ones. If a business wants a leg up on competition, they need to form long-lasting relationships with their customers. They need to satisfy and keep the customers they already have as well as bring in new buyers. If businesses and companies can find a way to do this, they will be very successful!

BLOG COMMENT #7

title: Why Grow? and other wisdom from 37signals by Tim Ferriss

date: 4/13/2010

my comment:

I really like the Scratch Your Own Itch section.  I think so many people try to come up with products that they wouldn’t even necessarily use. If you find a need for a product, then you should take that need and work on developing a product you would use. Like it said in the article, if you are trying to solve someone else’s problem with a product, you are basically stabbing in the dark. But if you see a problem with a product and are working on your own solution or idea, you know exactly what needs to be done to make the product better.

BLOG COMMENT #8

title:  Always feeling hungry? Watch out for these foods that will make you overeat by: Brierly Wright

date: 4/13/2010

my comment:

I thought this post was really interesting, and I really learned a lot. I’m on a college tennis team, and when we go to play matches in other states we have to eat out for lunch and dinner, because we’re constantly on the road. I eat a lot when we go on these road trips, but it’s not a big deal because I work off the calories during my matches. When I get back on campus, for the next few days I usually still have a big appetite though. My body still craves a lot of food, even when I’m not as active. I just assumed my body got used to intaking so many calories from the previous few days, and that it was normal for this to happen. Now I know that what I’m eating is a big part of it. I eat a lot of fast food, and these foods have the fats/ palmitic acid which make your body resistant to appetite suppressing hormones. I also learned little tips about eating healthier. It was also interesting to learn that it’s healthier to eat slowly. You’ll burn more calories if you eat over a 20-30 minute time span, rather than to just scarf down your food.

BLOG COMMENT #9

title: 8 ways to get in shape by: Donald Latumahina

date: 4/14/2010

my comment:

Great Post! I really think it is all mental when it comes to getting in shape. It’s all about taking that first step, having a good attitude, and sticking with it. When I first started working out I really hated it. However, even though I didn’t like it, I stuck with it because I knew it was going to get me in shape. Looking back, I’m amazed at how my mentality has changed. Now I enjoy working out. I find that exercising is a big stress reliever, and it makes me feel good knowing that I’m doing something good for my body. I look forward to working out, and even though it’s not easy, it’s completely worth it. It started out with working out, but that has led to other things. Now I eat healthier and strive to take care of my body. Overall I’m the healthiest and happiest I’ve ever been. You just need to be willing to take that first step and to stick with it!

BLOG COMMENT # 10

title: Tips for Photographing the Sunrise by Wisconsinart

date: 4/15/2010

my comment:

Wow. I’m glad I read this. I love photography, and I love taking pictures of sunrises and sunsets. I really never thought that it was too late to take pictures of the sunrise after it had just risen. But it makes sense after I read this. The best colors for sunrises happen before the sun actually rises. So if you really want a spectacular shot, you need to get to your location earlier than you think! Also I never thought of taking pictures of a sunrise with the sun at your back. Now I know to take advantage of the effects the sunrise has on the surrounding landscape. This blog made me think of some things I previously never thought of, so thank you! I’ll definitely use these tips the next time I go out to take pictures.

BLOG COMMENT # 11

title: How do you cope with the stress in your life? by: Nancy Howard

date: 4/17/2010

my comment:

Great Post! Dealing with stress has been a big obstacle in my life, but lately I’ve been making it a priority to not let stress and anxiety control my day to day life.  One thing that has really helped with my stress is exercising. When I first started working out I hated it. Now I look forward to it because I have time to clear my head. If I have a lot on my mind, I just focus on the movement of my body so I don’t think of anything else. I also usually run to my favorite music, and this helps me relax as well. Not only is working out great for your mental health, it’s great for your physical health as well. Natural endorphins also make working out great, because you feel great afterward.  Another thing I do is focus on the positives in my life. Instead of complain about the things going wrong, or things I don’t have, I try to give thanks to God for everything he has given me.  Even if it’s something as simple as having food to eat, and clothing to wear. Because when you think of the bigger picture, do you realize how many people in the world don’t have even this?

BLOG COMMENT #12

title: New bony-skulled dinosaur species discovered in Texas

date: 4/19/2010

my comment:

Wow! I thought this post was amazing. It’s crazy to think that new species of dinosaurs are still being discovered. It’s a miracle that their remains have remained intact! I mean they lived on this planet millions of years ago, and we have only just begun to discover their remnants within the past few hundred years. I also thought it was really interesting that the dinosaur was only about as big as a medium sized dog. Usually when someone hears the word “dinosaur” they automatically think big, at least I do anyway. It’s also neat that they discovered the skull fragments in Texas. Texas is only a few states away from where I am now, and it just makes you think that there really could be fossils or dinosaur bones right in your backyard. I think dinosaurs are fascinating, and I love hearing and learning about new discoveries!

BLOG COMMENT #13

title: Behavior: Napping can prime the brain for learning by: Roni caryn Rabin

date: 4/20/2010

my comment:

I thought this article was really interesting. My friends always tell me that napping is so bad for me, because I love taking naps and usually do a few times a week. Now I can tell them to read this article. I personally always feel so much better after taking a nap, and I agree that napping helps you retain information. When you’re tired you really don’t absorb much. Being a full time student makes you learn this the hard way. There will be classes I’ll go to where I’m so tired and after class is over I can’t recall a lot of what was discussed. Now after I read this, I have no more guilt and I’ll nap whenever I need to!

BLOG COMMENT # 14

title: Gene That Ties Stress to Obesity and Diabetes Discovered

date: 4/21/10

my comment:

Wow! I thought this post was great. With finals and the end of the school year upon us, stress levels are at an all time high. I knew stress wasn’t good for your body, but I didn’t realize the extent, or how many parts of your body are affected. I was also shocked to find out how many stress-related diseases are out there! I found it absolutely fascinating that one protein, Urocortin-3 (Ucn3), and manipulating one gene that produces this protein in one part of the brain can have profound effects on the metabolism and the entire body. If scientists continue to do research and expand upon what they have already found, then this discovery may lead the way to treatment and prevention of numerous stress-related diseases. This is great news! I definitely feel more informed after reading this

COMMENT #15

title: Wide Awake by: Joy Engdahl

date: 4/24/2010

my comment:

I went to this event, and thought it was really great. The speakers and the music were absolutely amazing.  I was surprised (in a good way) at how many people showed up, and this is such a good thing. I feel like people learned a lot about human trafficking and slavery and ways they can get involved.  I’m really glad I went and I definitely plan on getting involved to help stop this horrible injustice. I signed up for a few upcoming events, and I plan on becoming a member of the club at Southeastern. It was amazing to see how God is working in this area, and I feel that this event made a great impact on all those who attended.

COMMENT #16

title: How to Read Like a Writer

date: 4/26/2010

my comment:

I thought this post was really useful. Over the past year or so, I have been experimenting with writing. I love writing poetry, but then I had a great idea for a novel. So I decided to try writing a novel. I’ve been working on it the past year or so and I hope to have it published one day. I really don’t read as much as I would like to, so I feel like I’m kind of in the dark when it comes to structure. I have a great idea, but it’s just getting it down in the right way. You can have a great idea and execute it poorly. This is a fear of mine. I thought this post had some great tips and I’ll definitely keep them in mind as I continue to write.

COMMENT #17

title: What is Your Biggest Brain Drain?

date: 4/26/2010

my comment:

My biggest Brain Drain is the Internet, specifically social networking sites such as facebook. I often find myself on facebook when I’m bored, when I can’t concentrate, or when I want to procrastinate. However, it’s really sickening how much time I spend on this site, when nothing productive is being accomplished when I am on it. At least if your brain drain is cleaning, you are still accomplishing something! I’m really going to try and limit my time on the computer, because the time spent on it is time I could be doing productive things. I’m really going to work on replacing my brain drain time with something like exercising. Something that allows me to clear my head, but still benefits me in some way.

COMMENT # 18

title: Stupid Band Photos by: DaniellaDeBoulay

date:  4/28/ 2010

my comment:

Great Post! Taking a good band picture is really important because this is what everyone will see when they first hear about your band. I liked the pictures you guys took, and I think you have a great idea for your next band shoot. It’s really important to stress who you are as a band with your band photo. I think recreating the emergency room is perfect because like you said above, it goes perfectly with your band name and motto. Keep thinking like this! Don’t be afraid to be creative and do something different.  Try new angels, new stances, and play with new ideas. Good luck, and I can’t wait to see your photos!

Comment # 19

title: Seen but not Heard by: blrollings2010

date 4/29/2010

my comment:

Great Post! I definitely agree with you. I think way too many people are worried about impressing others and making a fool out of themselves, and because of this they don’t speak up. I can honestly say that I’m more of a shy person and voicing my thoughts and opinions is something I am working on.  It’s almost like I’m doing harm when I don’t speak up though because like you said, I could have a great idea or words that a person needs to hear. If I don’t speak up then nothing is being accomplished and I am not helping anyone.

Comment # 20

title: End of Semester by: blrollings2010

date: 4/29/2010

my comment:

I am so happy this semester is almost over. I am not graduating for a few more years, but I really cannot wait for this summer. Like you I am taking a full load of classes, and I play tennis here on top of it. It’s been really stressful and challenging trying to manage both. Like you said, some people are really good at handling stress and pressure, and others not so much.  One way I’m going to try and help myself for future semesters is getting better with managing my time. Anyways we are almost done, and as exhausted as we may be we have to push through these last few weeks!

Comment #21

title: A Taste of the Heart of the Unseen by: relating2thepublic

date: 4/29/2010

my comment:

I thought this post was great. So many of the things you said are true. There are so many kids in the world that need homes and families, and the sad part about it all is that some people just don’t know how, or don’t think they can help.  I think adoption is a great thing. Two of my best friends plan on adopting all of their future children, and I hope to adopt a child in the future as well. Since I can’t adopt a child now, however, I have sponsored a child. Sponsoring a child is the next closest thing to adoption in my mind, and is a great option for college students. Sponsoring a child is another alternative to adoption that can change a child’s life and make a difference in the world.

COMMENT #22

title: What Message is Your Profile Picture Giving Off? by: Whitness07

date: 4/30/2010

my comment:

I thought this was a great post. It is so true that many people will judge you based off your profile picture. That is why it is so important to have a good, professional/appropriate profile picture, because unfortunately your picture will be people’s first impressions of you. I also agree that people are drawn to good photographs, so if you have a great profile picture, a lot more people will visit your actual profile. I think the rules you mentioned were great if you have a profile for your job, or for other professional purposes. I think there is definitely more slack in the rules if you have a profile just for your own enjoyment. Either way though, I do think having appropriate pictures is really important.

Comment # 23

title: What do I Say to Pros? by: Whitness07

date: 4/30/2010

my comment:

I completely understand about being shy or nervous when it comes to talking with public relations professionals, or any person of importance for that matter. I was really nervous when I had to interview Nate Anderson, the founder and president of Ear Candy Charity, my client for this semester. If you are a public relations major though, you need to get over this fear, because your job is all about making connections, talking with new people, and ultimately finding out information you can use to create a story. And who knows, you might end up finding someone you can work really well with, and you may even end up making a great friend!

Comment # 24

title: The Secret Kept from SEU Students by: Tara1md

date: 4/30/2010

my comment:

Yeah! I heard about this from someone! I read the e-mails the school sent out, but like you said, they didn’t provide any details. I thought the e-mails seemed pretty shady and now that I know the story behind the sent e-mails it makes me mad. They should inform everyone of what happened so people don’t blow off the warnings and actually try to be more safe. I know SEU probably doesn’t want the campus to be in chaos or in fear, but this is serious and I think we all deserve to know! If people knew what actually happened they would be more willing to take extra safety precautions!

Comment #25

Title: Social Networking: Cyber-Bullying By: relentlessreverie

Date: 4/30/2010

My comment:

I heard about this and I think it is such a tragic story. I think the story was even brought up in our PR class. I never even really knew that there was such a thing as cyber-bullying before this. After this story though, I realize it is a serious issue and that it has serious consequences. It is an issue that more people need to be aware of, so that we can put a stop to it. Parents especially need to be aware of this so that they can help their kids through it, if it is happening to them. If people are aware, then we can help prevent things like suicide!

~ by necottom on March 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
