Tow week 8

Last week I took the The Lead Lab course. I feel like I learned a lot about writing a lead. When you are writing a lead it is important to remember the 5 W’s and H. What happened?, Who did it happened to? Where did it happen? When did it happen? Why did it happen? And How did it happen?  This is a good starting point when writing a lead.  Another thing to remember is to look for the tension in a lead.  Most successful leads that you read have some kind of tension and build up present. Also when choosing a lead for your story ask yourself, did the story just happen? Am I the first to report it, or will my audience already know about it from another news source?  Am I, or is my news organization the only one who has the story? These guidelines of time, readers’ needs, and exclusivity will be very helpful.  What really surprised me was that previously I had no idea that there was more than one kind of lead. There are two basic types of leads. First there is the direct lead, and the delayed lead. Direct leads get to the point. The essence of the story is summed up usually in a single paragraph. Delayed leads appeal to the human aspect of the news. Usually the reader already knows the news, and wants the writer to tell them a story. Then leads can further be broken down into different types.  These types are: Summary, Analysis, Anecdotal, Emblem, Detail, and Round-up.  I would definitely like some more practice when it comes to reading a lead, and being able to choose the type of lead it is. I also would have liked to practice writing leads more through this course. I read a lot, and I feel like I learned a lot by reading, however, I would have learned more by actually writing leads. Overall I thought this course was great, and I feel like I learned a lot from it.

~ by necottom on March 6, 2010.

One Response to “Tow week 8”

  1. I have always been intrigued by the 5 W’s. If you watch the movie “Teacher’s Pet,” the 5 W’s are mentioned. A lot of people when they sit down to write a story should first of all list the 5 W’s because sometimes I think one can become so excited about a story that they write down everything that happened and it is not quite organized. I think the 5 W’s help to organize a story.

Leave a Reply

 
