TOW Week 11!

The topic of the week this week is infographics. You may be asking yourself, what are infographics? I asked myself the same question. Infographics are computer generated artwork that attractively displays simple tables and charts. So basically Information graphics or infographics are visual representations of information, data or knowledge. They can be very useful in a story for my client, or any story for that matter, because instead of writing about statistics and telling people facts, I can show them a visual chart. By using some type of visual, my article will look more organized, and the information will be easier to see and follow. For all these reasons, I really think using infographics is a great way to display information. I would guess that you can create one using certain software programs. I’m thinking Microsoft excel would allow you to make tables and charts, but Microsoft word also allows you to do this. I made these simple tables and charts in Microsoft word to give you an example of what they look like. You just go to insert, then click on the table tab, then insert table. You can choose the number of columns and rows when you do this. There are a few other options available under the table tab as well. To make a chart you just go to insert, click on the chart tab, then there are a variety of different templates available to choose from. The options range from typical graphs such as pie, line, and bar graphs, but there are a bunch of other templates as well. Previously I had no idea Microsoft word gave you the options to do this. I’m really happy I discovered how to make tables and charts, because this is a tool I can definitely use in the future!

Here’s A SAMPLE    
         
         
~ by necottom on March 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
