Why You Should Sponsor a Child!

Think of all the pointless things you spend your money on right now. Think of all the pointless things you buy in a month or even a day. Why not put your money toward something that will actually make a difference in a child’s life and in the world? Sponsoring children is something very near to my heart. It’s a great way to make a difference if you are a college student. I think adoption is a great thing, but for many college students, it is not an option right now. I wanted to do something to help others in the world, especially children, but I didn’t know what I could do with my limited time and money. Then my friend talked to me about a mission’s trip she went on to Cambodia and told me about all the little kids she worked with. She helped out at an orphanage and a student house and told me a heart breaking story about how these houses have to turn away kids because there is no more room, and no money to care for any new additions. She told me that these homes want to expand, but they cannot do so without more support.  She then said that these kids had dreams of getting an education, and that only kids who were sponsored were able to pursue their dreams. I knew right then and there that I had to do something, so I decided to sponsor a child from one of the student houses. It is just amazing to know that for about $30 a month, which is about $1 a day, I am giving a child a future. I am providing that child with money to care for their basic needs, their education, and ultimately a chance to escape the poverty they live in and make a life for themselves and future family. For only a dollar a day, you too can provide a child with the basic things we take for granted.

Watch this video. It touched my heart.

If you too feel called to sponsor a child there are many different websites that make the process of sponsoring a child easy! Here are links to a few of them.

   1.www.worldvision.org

   2. www.ChristianChildrensFund.org

   3. www.compassion.com

 

Here are some stats about world hunger. Not only will you be addressing issues like starvation when you sponsor a child, you will also be providing for all a child’s basic needs and even education!

  • More than one quarter of all children under the age of five in developing countries are underweight, many to a life-threatening degree

 

  • Poor nutrition remains a global epidemic contributing to more than half of all child deaths, about 5.6 million per year

 

  • A child dies every 5 seconds from starvation! By the time you read this nearly 70 children will have passed away!
~ by necottom on April 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Why You Should Sponsor a Child!”

  1. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely agree that we should support starving or homeless children, but I can’t stand the advertising companies use for this kind of thing. It’s always the most miserable child or family they can find, looking dumbly (in the proper sense) at the camera, with their head slightly tilted up so you can see their big eyes. It’s so staged it makes me want to puke.

  2. […] Comment 9: […]

Leave a Reply

 
